Invited speakers


Plenary talks

Roland Guichard, University College London, UK

Higher order Kerr terms vs. plasma: Saturation of the nonlinear refractive index

Sven Van Loo, University of Leeds, UK

Adaptive mesh methods for systems of hyperbolic conservation laws in
plasma physics

Michele Romanelli, CCFE, UK

Integrated modelling frameworks in Magnetic Confinement Fusion

Debasmita Samaddar, CCFE, UK

Parallel in time integration – a step towards exascale computing in Plasma Physics

Anton Shterenlikht, University of Bristol, UK

HPC with Fortran 2008 and 2015 coarrays

Richard Smedley Stevenson, AWE, UK

Computational X-ray transport in plasma physics experiments on current and future HPC

Robin Williams, AWE, UK

Astrophysical Collisional-Radiative Modelling


Introductory talks

Tony Arber, University of Warwick, UK

Introduction to Computational Plasma Physics

Lagrangian and Arbitrary Lagrangian-Eulerian (ALE) hydrodynamics

Patrick Gillies, ECMWF, UK

Trends in Computer Science for Scientific High Performance Computing (HPC)

Roland Guichard, University College London, UK

Software practices in Computational Science

Bob Kingham, Imperial College London, UK

Introduction to Vlasov-Fokker-Planck methods

Jenny Macey, AWE, UK

Introduction to Eulerian hydrodynamics and Adaptive Mesh Refinement (AMR)

Ben McMillan, University of Warwick, UK

Gyrokinetics, and the control variates (delta-f) method for general plasma physics problems with small fluctuations

Heather Ratcliffe, University of Warwick, UK

Introduction to PIC methods

Alex Robinson, STFC, UK

Continuum Vlasov Solvers

Jonathan Smith, Tech-X, UK

Advanced techniques for accuracy and speed of novel particle accelerator convepts

Key dates

  • Abstract submission deadline extension: 9 October 2017

  • Bursary deadline: 23 October 2017

  • Early registration deadline: 23 October 2017

  • Registration deadline: 3 November 2017